Our Place in the World

Have a great day! by hira3, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 2.0 Generic License   by  hira3 

I have been busy trying to focus and condense all my ideas into an outline for a learning plan.  I am definitely still feeling a little lost, it’s like I have a bundle of GPS devices handy, but they are all sending me in different directions, ironically I have chosen a Geography Foundation unit plan called “Our Place in the World” which will include a collaborative class map project.

I believe I’ve mentioned previously that I am not very familiar with the Australian Curriculum, therefore I have been constantly retracing my steps to get my head around the difference between objectives and descriptors and you wouldn’t believe how I am missing Being, Belonging and Becoming (The Early Years Learning Framework), at this stage I’ve developed an even deeper appreciation for it as a curriculum framework.

I’m not sure if I’m on the right track, but I know for a fact I am right out of time. I can’t delay any longer, I must continue the journey along the next learning path, I’m hoping things will become clearer along the way.

Our Place in the World

Constructing knowledge learning objectives:

Geographical knowledge and understanding:

  • The representation of the location of places and their features on maps and a globe (ACHGK002)
  • The places people live and belong to, their familiar features and why they are important to people (ACHGK002)

Transforming knowledge learning objectives:

Questioning and researching

  • Represent the location of features of a familiar place on pictorial maps and models (ACHGS003)

Interpreting and analysing

  • Reflect on their learning to suggest ways that they can look after a familiar place (ACHGS003)

These are some of my ideas that I am hoping to include in the “Our Place in the World” unit plan, I’m thinking it has to undergo a lot of refining, it is ever evolving at this stage, but I must move on, it could potentially have an entire face-lift as I venture through the next learning path.

  • Children collaborate to explore, investigate and research different ways places and features can be represented on maps and globes.
  • Children broaden their understanding of the world in which they live, they are developing knowledge and processes which support them in explaining and understanding where they belong.
  • Children are able to identify familiar places and recognise that people develop connections and a sense of belonging towards important places.
  • Children are provided with the opportunity to collaboratively explore a place in the community (park/museum) or the school and conduct as part of an inquiry or investigation into what makes it a special place.
  • Children will draw upon the knowledge they have developed throughout the unit to guide their unique contribution to the class map project.  Children will be encouraged to draw, paint, create, build or produce an artwork, image or model that represents a place that is important to them which will be an important contribution to the class map project.  The map project will be a collaborative project.
  • A child-led collaborative inquiry will explore ways that important familiar places can be cared for and why this is important, the children’s theories will be documented and will be incorporated into the map project.
  • The children will explore ways in which the map project can be shared with the community.  The collaborative project will promote the children’s learning journey, their theories and their views about their community and their special place in the world.
  • ICTs will be incorporated to enhance learning opportunities and to support differentiation within the classroom.  The following ICTs will be used for research and investigation purposes and well as to document throughout the project:  iPads (apps, camera, video, voice recorder); Google maps, Google Earth, GPS; digital cameras, IWB (Interactive Whiteboard), editing software.

So to conclude this post I’m more confused than ever, I need direction!  I’m not  sure if this type of unit plan will even align with the backward design we are using for planning as it has a focus upon children being co-constructors of the experiences, their explorations and discoveries guide where to go to next, so it is kind of difficult to begin with the desired outcome, due to the fact that it could lead to many unexpected places.  Therefore maybe I have set myself  up for a future full of difficulties as I proceed.  Maybe I should rethink the whole thing, time will tell I guess.

To finish on a positive, my learning plan was  inspired by the ‘Children’s Map Project’, a Reggio Emilia inspired project carried out in partnership with DECD, CARCLEW and the children and educators at Halifax St, Children’s Center in Adelaide. The original Reggio Children project was called ‘Reggio Tutta’ A guide to the city by the children.

“School is not a place only to transmit culture but to create it, to encourage critical thinking, creativity and relationships.  No longer can schools simply be reproducers of knowledge.  They are places where children and adults construct knowledge and their understanding of the world together.”

Carla Rinaldi (Re-imagining Childhood, 2013).

Standard

2 thoughts on “Our Place in the World

  1. Pingback: Back from Easter break | elizabethwilsonr

  2. Pingback: Drafting Ideas for Assignment 2 | rissjourney

Leave a comment